keeley cashman

keeley'S
STORY

My name is Keely Cashman; I am a 22-year-old alpine ski racer. I started racing when I was just five years old, chasing my brothers around the mountain while my dad coached us. I cannot remember a time when I didn't want to be a professional ski racer; it has always been my dream and number one goal. 

 

I started traveling with the National Training Group when I was fourteen years old and I made the U.S Ski Team when I was sixteen. I raced my first World Cup in Flachau, Austria in 2017, but as most of us know success is not a straight line. I struggled to show strong results for the next two years, and although I continued to qualify for the U.S Ski Team, I knew I wasn't competing at my best. I made some changes in the way I approached race day and was able to win the Nor-Am Overall Title during the 2019/20 season. This win gave me a World Cup spot in every discipline going into the 2020/21 season, and I was ready to get going! 

 

My ultimate goal is to win the overall title and to do that you have to compete across many disciplines. The majority of people choose to specialize in tech or speed, but my goal is to do so in every discipline. During the 2020/21 I was able to start in Downhill, Super-G, Giant Slalom, and Slalom, but my year was cut short due to injury. This year I also started school at the University of Utah, which was a tricky thing to balance while competing on the World Cup Circuit, but ultimately school kept me busy when I got injured. When I am not skiing, I spend the off-season working at my family's coffee shop in Pinecrest, California. My hometown of Strawberry is tucked away in the Sierra Nevada mountains, with a population of just 89 people. I love spending the off-season at home road biking, fishing, or hiking, ultimately spending as much time as I can outdoors.

Thank you for your support!